How to find cheap flights
Travel Travel Tips

The ultimate guide to finding cheap flights

12/06/2017

I’m often asked “How do you afford to travel so much?” The truth is finding cheap travel deals is all about being smart in where you go, when you go, and how you get there.

When you’re tying to find cheap flights, FLEXIBILITY is one of the most important factors and you also need to know where to search for flights.  I’ve created a guideline that can help you find cheap flights to anywhere in the world.

Travel Search Engines

• SkyScanner – www.skyscanner.com

Great for setting alerts for specific and non-specific destinations, airline, and dates.

TIP: In the TO line type EVERYWHERE or the country you need to travel to (not city). Example: SOUTH AFRICA not CAPE TOWN.

• Kayak – www.kayak.com

TIP: When choosing a departure date click on the WHOLE MONTH tab and then CHEAPEST DAY. You can do this on SkyScanner too.

• Google Flights – www.flights.google.com

TIP: Enter more than one departure airport if you have multiple options you can fly from, this tool will find the flights from all of them (up to 5) and list them in order of price so you can see the least expensive option.

• Momondo – www.momondo.com

• Skiplagged – www.skiplagged.com

find cheaper flights by buying a flight with a layover in the city you’re actually trying to go to (hidden-city fares)

TIP: Buy your ticket using a different currency. Believe it or not, sometimes this actually makes a noticeable difference in the price!

Amazing websites for error fares & deals!

• Secret Flying – www.secretflying.com

• Airfare Watchdog – www.airfarewatchdog.com

• Holiday Pirates – www.holidaypirates.com

• All The Flight Deals – www.alltheflightdeals.com

• Travel Pirates – www.travelpirates.com

• Last Minute Deals – www.lastminute.com

 

Daily Deals

• All The Flight Deals – www.alltheflightdeals.com

• The Flight Deal – www.theflightdeal.com

• The Fare Deal – www.faredealalert.com

• Travelzoo – www.travelzoo.com

TIP: sign up for the Travelzoo Top 20 newsletter to receive the best deals listed each week.

Getaway Deals (Combination of Flights and Hotels)

• Groupon Getaways – www.groupon.com/getaways

• STA Travel – www.statravel.com

• Student Universe www.studentuniverse.com

Other tricks that may help you save on airfare:

• Sign up for airline newsletters.

• Join a frequent flyer program to earn miles.

• Sign up for a travel rewards credit card

If you’re using a credit card why not get one with travel rewards. Depending on which country you live in and what cards you have access to.

• Open a private window, as some travel websites track your searches and gradually raise the price of your desired flight.

• Skip the Major Airlines, Fly Budget

• Don’t always fly direct

• Be flexible with your travel dates

The difference in one day can save you hundreds of dollars.

TIP: Accidents and mishaps are often a part of traveling abroad, and so you shouldn’t forget to cover yourself and your belongings for any eventuality.

Do you have any tips to save big on flights? Share below in the comments section

 

No Comments

    Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: